Bibliophilia · Book talks

Book Talk : Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

IMG_20160801_163230

Correct me if I am wrong but I believe Cursed child to be this year’s most awaited book (or at-least one of them). If you’ve been living under a rock then I must tell you that this book is the eighth book in the series. What makes this book so special is the fact that this book tells us of Harry’s life after the ‘Battle of Hogwarts’ and it is also the last book of the series.

 

Plot:

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

( Source : Goodreads )

My Review (SPOILER FREE) :

I’ve read a lot of reviews which say that the story lacked the ‘depth’ and that it was all too predictable. While they are correct to a small extent , it will be unfair to match the literary style of the first seven books and this one. Reason for this is the fact that unlike other seven books, this is not a novel. It is a script for a play. So yes, it is non-descriptive and is rather fast paced.

Okay let me start my review by telling you the obvious; the book starts with you getting goosebumps and re-living all the memories you have of the series. There maybe some awkward hugs with the book, a photo-shoot which is totally uncalled for (or is it?), some shrill cries and maybe , like in my case, humming of the Harry Potter theme track!

Now since the book says ‘Harry potter and the cursed child’ and not ‘Albus Potter and the cursed child’, the book still focuses on Harry but in a different way. This book starts exactly where Deathly hallows left us. We are back at King’s cross. Like most of you, I grew up with Harry Potter. Like many others who started living alone at an early age, I had trouble fitting in school and making friends. To me Harry Potter and every other character were real. The struggle was real. xD

As the book starts and we are at King’s cross, I found something in me changed. It was as if I grew old with the characters! Harry’s struggle became mine and I could feel all that he felt – just like before but now as a middle-aged ministry man, a husband , a father , an aged hero! Maybe I’m exaggerating it a bit but am I ?

Though years have passed, Harry is still learning about life. He is still evolving into a better version of himself or well, he is desperately trying to! The story is rather fast paced which again, can be attributed to the fact that this is a play and not a novel. If you have watched Harry Potter series or read it, you won’t find lack of description to be an issue. Speaking for myself, I realized I knew wizard world better than the streets of my side of the city. The only thing I think I disliked was the fact that it all ended quite soon. Yes it’s fast paced and is meant to be so but still, I would have loved it to go on for another 100 or so pages. *Sorry, I am a greedy Potter-head*xD

I’ve tried to keep this post spoiler free so yes, there are things that I haven’t mentioned. But I hope this was enough to satiate your curiosity.

Ratings: 4.5 / 5

So there you have it! A clean, spoiler free & slightly biased review of this amazing book! xD

Let’s talk magic! Have you read this book? What do you think of the book and my review? It’s okay if you hate either or both of them 😛

Leave a Reply

