Bibliophilia

My new acquisitions!

Hello everyone, Sorry I didn’t post anything in last couple of days. I was patiently waiting for my bucket list to clear out. I have new books! (Yusss!) I am so excited and just can’t wait to read all of them. *Jumps on the couch like a 5 yo* πŸ˜›

Okay, so these books have been on my TBR for a long time now and I really wanted to change their shelves on goodreads ( lol ). Here’s the list :

IMG_20160723_152735

Animal Farm – George Orwell

1984-George Orwell

The old man and the sea- Ernest Hemingway

The art of war – Sun Tzu

The perks of being a wall flower – Stephen Chbosky

The fault in our stars – John Green

And then there were none- Agatha Christie

Chanakya’s chant – Ashwin Sanghi

The Sialkot Saga – Ashwin Sanghi

The God of Small Things- Arundhati Roy

Of course I love you – Durjoy Datta

Cometh the hour- Jeffry Archer

Mightier than sword- Jeffry Archer

The perks of being flower was my last month’s group read but since I always end up procrastinating things, I will be reading it now. I did watch the movie when it came out and loved it. I am only thankful that I don’t really remember the story because that would have spoiled the reading experience for me.

I finished ‘Animal farm’ and ‘The God of Small Things’ already (sorry, couldn’t wait! ). So I will be posting my thoughts on the book real soon.

‘The fault in our stars’ and ‘Of course I love you’ are both love stories (as far as I know). Now, love stories aren’t quite what I like to read. I mean I don’t have any problem if there’s romance in the story but if the story is based on romance then I keep my distance. I honestly don’t know why but it makes me uncomfortable. I picked these books for the very same reason! I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and read something new. Also, this can be a baby step towards reading YA novels. So yes, while I am avoiding them even now, I am excited to read them.

George Orwell has done a spectacular job in 1984 ( or so I am told ). I am excited to read this because I loved Animal Farm and dystopia is also something I used to avoid. I will give you my thoughts when I read this.

Agatha Christie is the queen of mysteries so there’s no mystery there! I picked ‘And then there were none’ because I’ve been told that it is one of her best works and that she faced a lot of difficulties in creating a plot. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it?

I honestly don’t know much about Ernest Hemingway apart from the fact that it was taught to my reddit friends when they were in their sophomore year. They told me it was great and I really wanted to know what the fuss was all about.

Jeffry Archer’s Clifton chronicles really kept me turning pages but I lost track of it while waiting for the 5th installment! So, here I am with the 5th and 6th both so that I don’t lose the continuation.13620136_10153798356023379_4380522557104623970_n

 

 

 

 

And now let’s talk about the ones I’ve been saving for the last!

*Drumrolls*

Ashwin Sanghi, ladies and gentlemen!

Ashwin Sanghi is one of my favorite authors. He is often called as ‘Dan Brown of India’ but I don’t really think it’s a fair remark. Both the authors are amazing and have a similar yet different approach when it comes to story-telling. The style can seem similar but I find both to be different in a very unique way ; something that one must feel for it cannot be expressed in words. Ashwin , who shares his first name with me, will be coming to Bangalore on 30th of this month. (Yes, this saturday!!!)

Chanakaya’s chant has been on my reading list for last one year so I cannot wait to finally check it off my TBR list. Sialkot Saga is a new novel by him and I managed to get a copy.

Okay, this post went longer than I had planned to keep it and I must stop myself from typing more.

So tell me, how many have you read among these? Did you like it?

Which one do you think I should read first?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My new acquisitions!

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I am looking forward to reading them. I’ve finished two ( as I mentioned in the post ) and I loved them.
      Did you like The Fault in Our Stars? I’m guessing they made a movie on it too but I had avoided watching that as well lol. I would love to watch it once I’ve read the book. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. I read it in 2014 and I liked it a lot at that time. I don’t know about now. Like you, I’m also not into the cheesy love stories so… I think you’ll “like” it. It’s not that cheesy.

        Like

      2. Hahaha πŸ˜€ Yeah, I really hate cheesy love stories but the booktubers seem obsessed with this book (even though it’s ‘old’,per say). I am looking forward to reading it. It qualifies for YA, I guess? So that is also a genre that I’d love to check out. πŸ˜›
        Ps: I checked out your blog. It’s awesome! ^_^

        Like

Leave a Reply

