Bibliophilia

Why you must read non-fiction!

So last week I joined goodreads . For the uninitiated, it is a really cool social networking website for book-lovers. You can add books that you’ve read, are currently reading or the ones you wish to read. Like I mentioned, its cool. Cool is perhaps an understatement in this case as I am addicted to it. I ‘hunt’ for new books, proudly add the ones that I’ve read and rate them. I got a chance to interact with many other bibliophiles, something I had never done before.  However, I couldn’t help but notice that not many read non-fiction. There are people who, metaphorically speaking of-course, eat books but very rarely I came across someone who had read a fair deal of non-fiction. It is somewhat disturbing to me if I were to be honest. I’ll tell you why.

I started reading non-fiction very recently and got a different pleasure out of it. At first I used to find the idea of reading a non-fiction book a total waste of time and money. But then one day I found just how much they appealed to my curiosity . I was getting smarter and making better choices for myself. You see, when we read something, we discover and evolve a certain part of ourselves. Speaking for myself, when I read a thriller I find the suspense or the thrill appealing to a part of my persona. I find erotica appealing to my ideas and views of sexuality. When I read spiritual books, it appeals to my own spiritual self. In a similar fashion I find that non-fiction ( be it history, investment related, management related et-cetera ) appeals to that part of my intellect and glut my curiosity. It might sound boring and almost bullocks to someone who can’t relate but please bear with me.

I hope we agree that intellect is sexy. If you know things that are happening around you or something that we are involved with in our mundane lives, it is certainly appealing. Okay, even if you are not sapio-sexual, you might have seen people knowing things (who are not boasting ) and you must have been impressed. Guess what? you can actually be that person.

 

Here are 5 reasons why you must read non-fiction:

 1. It makes you smarter:

Take my word for it. You don’t have to read about everything, just about things that you like. I started reading about investments/personal finance and I am proud to admit that I have learned a lot from them.

 

2. It gives you more to talk about: 

Take it from a socially awkward introvert : reading non-fiction makes you interesting and gives you more to talk about. Thanks to my reading habits, I got to make a lot of friends and also found mentors. The more you know, have an opinion on and are curious about something, the more you can talk about it and share your knowledge.

 

3. Because you will discover yourself once more:

Reading about wealth distribution, economic and social condition of India and foreign relations helped in discovering myself once more. I started to have a different perspective of world and how it worked. I became rather practical in my daily approaches. This certainly did made a mark on who I was.

 

4. Because you will find yourself being challenged:

It is certainly true for people who do read non-fiction just as much as it holds true for those who don’t. Irrespective of your history with non-fiction, every book will challenge you. It will make you learn some new things. It will make you un-learn a few things. Every side has its own story waiting to be told. If you’re reading Sir Winston Churchill’s World War series or Mahatma Gandhi’s works on non-violence, you will feel challenged to accept someone else’s view on the topic or at-least think critically of those views. It is very important as it teaches you how to formulate your own views and beliefs.

 

5. Because its fun to know things:

Okay, I might have run out of ideas here (laughs) but hey,knowing is fun! If you are smart, you will seek company of smart people and will end up making smart choices in your life. It is as simple as that,really. Isn’t it cool that you know about economy or psychology when others around you don’t know anything more than what they have to for the sake of school or work? Well, definitely sounds cool to me.

 

So there, I listed 5 reasons why you must read non-fiction. Do let me know what you thought of it.

Do you have any other point to add? Hint: I don’t charge for comments. xD

Tell me why you love or hate reading non-fiction. Or just connect and talk to me.

    

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Why you must read non-fiction!

    1. Hi! Thank you so much for your comment! I appreciate that you liked the post. 🙂

      I couldn’t agree more with you. Irrespective of the topic the book, I just feel so good because I feel that I am actually learning something.

      I know its very hard to pick one but which is your favourite book of all? Any suggestions for me?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well there are so many it is hard to give a specific but I will tell you a couple! How to win friends and influence people, the alchemist and rich dad poor dad! Those are a couple great ones to start!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I loved reading ‘the alchemist’ and ‘rich dad and poor dad’. The latter had a great influence on me and is one of my favorite books of all time.

        I’ll be sure to check out ‘How to win friends and influence people’. Sounds like an interesting read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Looking forward to it! I have few more on my TBR as of now. ‘Capital -Thomas Piketty’ ,’ The new market wizards- Jack D. Schwager’ and ’48 laws of Power -Robert Greene’. I haven’t read them yet but they are supposed to be really good.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

