Bibliophilia

How I became a bibliophile!

The classic bibliophile is one who loves to read, admire and collect books, often amassing a large and specialized collection. Bibliophiles do not necessarily want to possess the books that they love; an alternative would be unusual bindings, autographed copies, etc.

– wikipedia

 

If you’re reading this then you, probably, already know what it means to be a bibliophile. A person who is hopelessly in love with books and the joy of reading!

When I was a kid I used to hear stories of my grandfather and how much he loved reading books. We used to have this almost mysterious looking almirah which had all his books in it. Of course my grandfather passed a month before my birth, so this was perhaps the only way of feeling that connection. I was almost 10 when I first saw one of his books. The first page, where you usually find the book’s title, was also adorned with the name of its owner, place where it was bought and the date of the purchase.

“It was a ritual that he practiced” , my father explained. It turned out he had followed the steps of his father and it had indeed been like a ritual to both these men.

It wasn’t long before I had a book of my own. I was reading short stories of Leo Tolstoy and plays of William Shakespeare but in Hindi. It didn’t really matter to me then. The only thought of being part of that legacy was more than enough to make me happy. Yes, It all started then.

Slowly and steadily years passed by. The 10 years old grew a lot in the next 11 years and so did his love for books. A happy story, isn’t it? lol

Books have been a friend to me since then. However, there are conditions too . Even I cannot fathom the logic behind some of them. For example, I do not enjoy reading e-books. I just can’t have it. I miss the smell of pages, I miss gripping the paperback and keeping it next to my pillow while I nap. I guess e-books just can’t offer what physical books do. I might be wrong, of course.

Well, that was my story and I hope you liked it.

 

So, what did you think of this post? and  what’s your story?

Do you have a collection of books you’ve read over the years? Tell me about it.

Connect with me on your preferred social media.

Leave a Reply

